Priligy (Dapoxetine) Review: Does It Really Work?

By: Rob Miller
Fact Checked On: 1-28-2019


Home » Male Enhancement » Priligy (Dapoxetine) Review: Does It Really Work?

What is Priligy aka Dapoxetine?

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp

One of our site visitors was kind enough to send his full review of Priligy (aka Dapoxetine), a drug specifically used to treat premature ejaculation issues.

Read his results below:

Dapoxetine manufacturers say it will delay ejaculation, indeed it does exactly what they say it will.
For that it gets five stars. It starts working in thirty to forty-five minutes; the effect will dissipate in around an hour and a half.
Would I recommend this to a friend? Yes. A very qualified yes, ONLY if you really need it.
Yes if you need it: Otherwise avoid it.
I cannot emphasize that enough, unless you really need it, don’t take it.

That’s a question only you can answer.
dapoxetine review
My long term lady friend and I are not the ideal couple to use or even test dapoxetine. I do not have premature ejaculation. Like a great many men I was curious if I could last longer on it and maybe it might make what I could do even better. I did last longer, too much longer.

I didn’t like it and my long term lady didn’t like it either.

Is It Legal?

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n

Another caution, dapoxetine is a drug and has been approved in over fifty countries, but NOT the United States.

The FDA is not in any hurry to put dapoxetine on any kind of fast track. You may be able to get a prescription in the States, but you will likely have to fill it through a foreign pharmacy. Even if all this works, and you have it sent to you from a foreign source you can incur legal problems or U.S.

Customs can stop it at the border. It isn’t worth these risks unless you really have premature ejaculation and need treatment. Dapoxetine may be approved in the U.S. in 2019, but it is still in the later phases of FDA trials.

Priligy (Dapoxetine) Ingredients

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n

Dapoxetine is available in three preparations of which this author is aware: by itself in 30 or 60 mg doses, in combination with tadalafil (aka Cialis) at 30 or 60 mg dapoxetine to 20 mg tadalafil; or in combination with sildenafil at the same mg for dapoxetine but fifty to a hundred mg (mg=milligrams) of sildenafil. If you order it what you will get will most likely be made in India, some of it under the trade name of Tadapox. Dapoxetine itself is also marketed under the names Priligy or Westoxetin.

Priligy is relatively well known in the U.S. already so it stands to reason many in the States are using it or at least have tried it.

What Is Premature Ejaculation?

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n

Any supplement or drug used for premature ejaculation, hereinafter also referred to as PE, requires a man to answer two essential questions:
1. What is premature ejaculation and do I have it?
2. Am I a good candidate for this drug, or supplement?
Truthfully I would have to answer no to both questions, I tried it essentially to learn how sex on it felt like. When a drug maker tells you not to use a drug unless you really need it, they’re right. My own experience with it only serves to reinforce that.

If you do need it dapoxetine may work for you, or you may want to try a similar drug such as sertraline.
Premature ejaculation has two categories, lifelong and acquired. Each have the same result. A man ejaculates within one minute after vaginal penetration, or is unable all the time or nearly all the time to delay ejaculation during intercourse.

A man may unintentionally condition himself to ejaculate too soon if he has erectile dysfunction or avoids intercourse due to anxiety and performance problems. If the latter by the time he has an opportunity for sex he may be ready and have an erection capable of penetration but bangs away rapid fire to ejaculate before he loses his erection. This can be addressed with counseling in combination with supplements or drugs to help maintain a strong erection.
A man with lifelong PE usually ejaculates within a minute after vaginal penetration and has done so since his first intercourse. If he can delay ejaculation during mastubatory activity chances are his problem may be more in his mind than body. Counseling and an understanding woman can help.

If he cannot delay ejaculation during masturbation, his ejaculatory condition may be biological.

Biological Causes of Premature Ejaculation

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n

Biological causes of premature ejaculation can be inherited traits, neurotransmitter or hormonal imbalance, or the result of a prostate problem. Prostate problems can be abnormal pressure on the prostate, the result of surgery, or inflammation or infection. The latter is generally called prostatitis, which is a common term for temporary prostate maladies. If you have PE and feel a fullness or swelling I your perineal region, that is likely a prostate problem. For those men whose PE is caused by infection or inflammation of the prostate gland, treat the infection and relieve the inflammation and your PE will go away. Hormonal or neurotransmitter imbalances will have to be addressed by a competent physician. For any biological cause of premature ejaculation you will need to see a doctor, preferably a urologist.

If your PE is acquired a combination of counseling, prescriptions, and an understanding woman can fix it over time.
Acquired PE develops over time for any number of reasons. Dapoxetine may be a part of a treatment plan in conjunction with counseling and/or an erectile dysfunction medication or supplement. Whatever the cause dapoxetine may be an option for you. Gents out there who are like me and merely curious as to whether dapoxatine can turn three to five minutes of penetrative sex into fifteen to thirty, forget it! Look elsewhere or refine your sex techniques with the woman in your life. Trust me, the latter takes a great deal of time, but it’s definitely worth the effort!

Does Priligy (Dapoxetine) Really Work?
https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n

Beware your expectations. Men may expect to last fifteen or twenty minutes after intromission with the help of dapoxetine. The time after penetration is also called IELT for intravaginal ejaculation latency time, meaning the length of time the erect penis is inside the vagina after penetration. You don’t have to believe what I say, but check it out for yourself, an IELT of over five minutes is more the exception than the rule. I am not a good candidate for dapoxetine, my own IELT is well past that, especially for a man my age. I’m lucky there.

The instructions for dapoxetine clearly state a man who can last longer than a minute or two after intromission should not use dapoxetine. My own IELT can be anywhere from three to forty minutes, though on most occasions my time is between seven and twelve minutes. Guys if you can’t do that, please understand I am the exception NOT the rule.

If you can last longer, do so. We never stop learning about sex & you learn by doing.
The average time a man with PE has his erect penis inside a woman is a single minute. The stats say dapoxetine doubles that.

So what? One minute inside her is now two. Most men trying to manage, and more importantly manage a cure for, PE don’t want to spend money if all they’re going to get for their trouble is another minute.

Dapoxetine was introduced as a antidepressant, it’s effective quickly, but also dissipates quickly. Other antidepressants such as sertraline, brand name Zoloft may be a better option. That entire class of antidepressants has an off label use for premature ejaculation. Consult a urologist, he could likely direct you to a more effective drug for PE than dapoxetine.
Being a drug and not a supplement dapoxetine is regulated by the Food and Drug Administration, FDA. It is an SSRI, selective serotonin reuptake inhibitor, this affects a man’s mood and his degree of sexual response while taking the drug. Dapoxetine has a half life of about an hour and thirty minutes; meaning it will begin to lose its effect an hour to an hour and a half after you take it.
Like many male sex enhancing drugs or supplements, dapoxetine started out as a treatment for something else. Dapoxetine was developed as an antidepressant, not a treatment for PE, because dapoxetine is effective within half an hour and is not effective beyond a couple of hours at most, it is prescribed as a PE treatment as well.

Possible Side Effects

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n

Those who try a combination of dapoxetine with anything, the effect of dapoxetine will wear off before that of sildenafil or tadalafil. After the tadalafil/dapoxetine pill I took, the dapoxetine effect was gone completely after the first hour and a half. Tadalafil was going strong and not fully dissipated until the next day. If you want to experiment, in all probability this will be a trial and error process of months or even longer, you may be able to calculate the timing to a point during intercourse when you have your erect penis inside her vagina at a point when the a day is wearing off and the tadalafil is still going strong, if so you will be too. That may also be an awful lot of effort, frustration, disappointment, and heartache for both of you as a couple.

If you want to try that, do so, also be prepared for disappointment.
A study by the International Society for Sexual Medicine, ISSM, reports that dapoxetine has a high discontinuation rate. Even in countries where dapoxetine is approved insurance companies don’t often cover it, making it costly. Men get tired of taking it every time they want to have sex; the benefits do not outweigh the problems. Getting the timing right with a woman is difficult; trying to assess when the dapoxetine will wear off and the tadalafil remain active would be of great help, but would require more experimenting and expense than most can afford.

My Personal Experience

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/38462436_2141318649517979_8190462776175493120_n
My first time dapoxetine experiment I took my 20 mg tadalafil/60 mg dapoxetine on an empty stomach; it was effective in 20 minutes. (Bet you thought I’d never get to this part, didn’t you?) I gave it another ten to be sure and began stimulation. I think most of the you would agree the frenulum is the most sensitive part of a man’s penis; certainly is with me. It took a full five minutes of tactile stimulation to produce an erection—and another four minutes to get hard enough for penetration.

On tadalafil only my penis erects in half that time. Dapoxetine allows a certain amount of penile sensitivity to remain on the shaft of the penis, the corona, and around the coronal ridge, but the frenulum is completely desensitized, no sexual response at all. I might as well have been rubbing my shins. Had I wanted to try I could probably have set a record. This was NOT fun as it should be, getting off was a chore. There was enough stimulus/response that I kept my erection, but only because other parts of my penis were still responsive, less so than usual, but still responsive. Ordinarily my frenulum is the orgasm trigger, increased or decreased stimulation on that area of my penis, and if you’re like most men your own penis as well, is how I regulate the time until orgasm or ejaculation.

Those two are not necessarily the same thing, but that is another discussion. When I feel myself approaching the point of no return I stop or alter the degree of arousal to delay my ejaculation. On dapoxetine there is no need to. That part of the penis is not numb, but for the lack of sexual response there it might as well be. Only will great and vigorous stimulation elsewhere on my shaft did I rope the moon.
I am an extraordinarily lucky man I that my much younger long term relationship girlfriend has put up with me for any number of reasons including but not limited to sexual performance, or the lack if it. After my long, unpleasant solo flight that was more work than not, I was ultra reluctant to try the tadalafil/dapoxetine combo with her. She was ready and willing to try even after I told her it might turn into work for both of us. She smilingly said, “Well you don’t know, what if we can last an hour that way?” I thought, well OK, this could turn into more work than fun, but we can try.
We got naked and got after it. I had taken the tadalafil dapoxetine pill and we waited until I felt the effect to start actual stimulation, arousal was already present. A naked woman will do that. My penis erected to steel hardness in three minutes thirty-seven seconds, a naked woman will do that too. We did our usual foreplay, mouth here, hand there; I eased my erect penis inside after fifteen minutes of foreplay. It had not gone down but needed stroking stimulation from her all over to stay erect.

When I was inside the full length the sensation was unlike anything I’d felt before. Ordinarily I feel her silky wet pressure evenly all over my shaft. As I thrust, and she bucks back the greatest sexual response comes from my frenulum. I can feel arousal emanating from the head and coronal ridge as well as all around the shaft three or so inches down from tip. But again, the key to arousal, stimulation, and response is my frenulum, that wonderful loose skin that hangs from the tip on the underside of penis.

That’s what I feel ordinarily. On tadalafil/dapoxetine all my sensitivity was diminished, especially the most sensitive part. I could feel her slick wet pressure there, but I might as well have been rubbing a rock for all the response, or pleasure, I had. We had sex, but it was work sex. We were at it for forty minutes, she orgasmed twice. She has touch signals she gives me when she wants me to ejaculate. This time it was like I was passing the checkered flag at the ‘napville 500 but I kept making laps after I’d won the race, seeing the checkered flag but somehow never crossing the finish line. To ejaculate inside her, which I did, we had to use some acrobatics of which we had not afore used and will not use again. She was tired and wanted to stop. I believe I ejaculated when I did because the dapoxetine was wearing off. With tadalafil I was still hard, and stayed hard after ejaculation and withdrawal. I greased it and eased it back in.

We made a literally half-assed attempt at another piece of ass. She was moaning, but tired. I was hard, but the sensations were weird and my best six was getting raw. We quit. We’re it not for dapoxetine we would have had two quite blissful sex encounters in one night with at least one orgasm each time for both of us. This time we had one long screw and got skrewed.

It was work.

Should You Try Priligy (Dapoxetine)?

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2019/01/priligy 30mg 6 tablets_1

In conclusion, dapoxetine does do what it says it will, delays ejaculation. The time spent during that delay may be fun, or it may be unpleasant, uncomfortable, and a few other more vulgar adjectives. I recommend dapoxetine only, repeat only if you really need it. If you are one of the men who do, there’s no shame I it, if your foot went numb all of a sudden you would seek treatment.

Premature ejaculation is no different and affects 20% of all men at sometime or other. The ISSM study even exposed yet unexplained cultural differences. The ‘I say old chap’ Brits of what is left of their Empire last longer than Turks, indeed have the longest IELT of any nationality in the study, including U.S. gents. That should give some comfort to men who have PE because that alone demonstrates there is much about premature ejaculation that is unexplained because we simply don’t know. If you are among those who need it, consult with a urologist. We’re all different.

Dapoxetine may work for you; a doctor could also guide you to Zoloft (sertraline) or another in that class of antidepressants that have recognized off label use as effective for PE. I wish you well.

!!!

Top 3 Male EnhancementAffiliate Disclosure

#1 Rated – Vigrx Plus

#1 Rated - Vigrx Plus

Out of the 100+ male enhancement products Ive tried, Vigrx Plus was the best.

Click Here To Learn More »

#2 Rated – Bathmate Hydromax

#2 Rated - Bathmate Hydromax

The Bathmate is a proven water-based vacuum pump that can help dramatically increase your size.

Click Here To Learn More »

#3 Rated – Phallosan Forte

#3 Rated - Phallosan Forte

Phallosan Forte is a GREAT option for those looking to grow both length AND girth, permanently.

Click Here To Learn More »

Honorable Mention/Inexpensive Alternative:Magnum Rings

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2017/01/magnun rings

Magnum Rings are a VERY affordable option to getting both girth and length gains, at a fraction of the price of the Bathmate or Phallosan Forte.

Click Here to see our full Magnum Rings review.



User Reviews


Have you used this supplement?

There Are No User Reviews



Ask A Question

User Questions and Answers

No Questions Have Been Answered For This Article.

Author: Rob Miller

Supplement Critique

Rob Miller founded SupplementCritique.com over 7 years ago, and has been the chief editor ever since. He has a diploma in Advanced Dietary Supplements Advisor, and worked at GNC for 3 years. He KNOWS supplements, both inside and out. Rob currently resides in Jupiter, FL, with his wife of 4 years.  Learn more about him in his Bio here. Follow him on Twitter , Facebook, LinkedIn, or find him on Google +.