Optimind Review – Does It Really Work?

By: Rob Miller
27 User Reviews
Fact Checked On: 11-19-2018
Trusted Product Affiliate Disclosure
Write A Review

94 USER QUESTIONS223 USER COMMENTS

Home » nootropics-noads » Optimind Review – Does It Really Work?

Note: This is just a review. Click Here to visit the official Optimind website.

If you asked me in 2010 (when I started this site) what a “Nootropic” was, I probably would have said “no f#$kin clue”.

Fast forward today, and it’s one of the hottest supplements niches out there.

nootropics interest over the past 8 years
Nootropics search interest from 2004 – 2018

Since then, I’ve personally tested about 40 different nootropic supplements.

optimind vs. other supplements

One of those 40 is a pill called Optimind.

You’ve probably already heard of it, given the literally 100’s of sites that have “reviewed” it (but likely NOT taken it).

A “nootropic” is defined as a smart drug or cognitive enhancer that help to improve:

  • Cognitive function
  • Memory
  • Creativity
  • Motivation
  • and Focus

There’s a TON of these drugs that say their “the #1 nootropic supplement”, yet when I tested them they didn’t do shit.

So is Optimind different, and more importantly, does it REALLY work?

Well, I personally tested it, and you’re about to find out.

Optimind Contents

What is Optimind?
My Results
Where To Buy
Recommendation

Watch Our Video Review Or Scroll Down To Read More

Real Optimind Video Review
SupplementCritique.com Video
692views

What is OptiMind?

Formulated by the same company who developed AllerAdd, Optimind is an all natural nootropics supplement that is designed to promote:

  • Laser focus,
  • Increased memory cognition and energy, and
  • Help improve overall drive.

Since this product is so new to the market, there are very limited reviews and testimonials from OptiMind customers.

I would say that you should start seeing talk on nootropics forums and the like within a few months, maybe even sooner.

Ingredients In Optimind

It uses a complex blend of ingredients that include:

  • GABA
  • DMAE
  • Caffeine
  • Huperzine A
  • Phosphatidyl L-Serine
  • Choline
  • Alpha Lipoic Acid
  • Sulbutamine
  • Vinpocetine
  • Bacoside A,
  • Green Tea Leaf extract
  • L-Tyrosine
  • Taurine
  • Vitamins B-6, B-12, and D-3

Here’s a snapshot of the Optimind ingredients label:

optimind label

How Each Of These Optimind Ingredients Work

Choline – Choline is an essential nutrient that is actually a precursor to acetylcholine, which is the primary neurotransmitter that is responsible for memory, intelligence, and mood.

It’s also been shown to support decision making, as well as reducing excitability and inhibition. (1)

DMAE – Also known as Deanol, DMAE is a chemical compound that is also involved in the series of reactions that taking place to form acetylcholine.

Other than improving memory and mood, DMAE is also known to help increase thinking skills and intelligence. (2)

Vinpocetine – Vinpocetine is a potent anti-inflammatory agent that has been shown to improve memory and cerebral metabolism.

It’s use has also been studied as a potential treatment to people suffering from Parkinson’s and Alzheimer’s disease.

GABA – GABA has been shown to help as a calming agent, and works to perform a regulatory function on melatonin production in humans. (3)

My Optimind Review

optimind reviewI was sent a welcome package of OptiMind, and started taking it immediately.

When I first tried it out, I hadn’t taken too many of these “Nootropic supplements”.

However, since then I’ve tested DOZENS of these supplements, including Enhance Mind IQ, Brain Plus IQ, and plenty of others that label themselves as “adderall alternatives“.

But I will say this….it works!

1 – 2 1/2 hours

Within a half hour of taking 2 capsules of OptiMind, I could feel it kicking in.

This supplement contains about 150 mg of caffeine, but the effect wasn’t your typical “I’m wide awake but can’t focus on mental tasks” kind of effect.

It was more of a “wow, I can see myself getting alot done today” type of effect.

I could feel a surge in clarity about 1 hour after taking Optimind, and I was completing tasks at a record pace.

3 Hours Later

Answering emails was no longer a chore, typing up boring reports suddenly became interesting, and I even managed to get in a 1 1/2 hour workout in before the morning was out.

5 Hours Later

Later on in the day I did start to feel a bit of a crash, but NOTHING like coming down off a really strong stimulant.

It was more of a “ok, I feel like I accomplished everything needed to, I’ll just kick my feet up now and watch an episode of Breaking Bad”.

Day 2

The next day I decided to test out how OptiMind would affect my competitiveness on the playing field.As many of you who follow my blog probably already know, I’m a pretty avid beach volleyball player that competes at the Open (semi-pro) level.

https://www.supplementcritique.com/wp content/uploads/2014/07/rob miller playing

Taking any sort of pharmaceutical drugs is a big No No in sports at this level, so I figured an alternative like this one may give me a much needed boost.

I popped a couple of pills about 1 hour before my first match, and KICKED….SOME….ASS!! I was making snap decisions in the blink of an eye, and my focus was through the roof.

It may have also helped that I didn’t drink 6 beers the night before hand, but in any case I could REALLY feel the difference.

Click Here to try out Optimind yourself and see the difference.

Optimind Pro’s

  • Works great
  • No side effects (for me at least)
  • All natural ingredients
  • Competitively Priced
  • Used by business executives, athletes, entrepreneurs, and students

Optimind Con’s

  • Not available in stores as of this review
  • Shouldn’t take if your under 18
  • Probably should not take in conjunction with other medications

The 3 Reasons I Think It’s The Best Nootropic

  1. Unlike most other Nootropics, they don’t pump their formula full of a ton of caffeine.
  2. There’s no hard “crash”at the end of the day.
  3. It helps improve focus and concentration DRAMATICALLY
[/areaonpage]

Where To Buy OptiMind

As of this review, you can only purchase OptiMind on their official site.

A single bottle sells for about $43, and is backed by a 30-day money back guarantee.They also have a trial version of their product, with a 10 pack selling for $3. You have 14 days to use it, and after that they send you a bottle and charge $43. This gives you a great chance to test out the supplement yourself, without making a hefty upfront financial commitment.

OptiMind is not available in stores like GNC, Vitamin Shoppe, Walgreens / CVS, Walmart, or online retailer sites like amazon or ebay.

What Countries Does Optimind Sell To?

As of 12/14/2016, Optimind is available in the following countries: United Kingdom, Canada, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Denmark, Finland, France, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Luxembourg, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Spain, and Sweden.

So now that you have a brief synopsis of the ingredients, how it works, and where to buy, let’s dive into my own personal experience.

Update 9/30/2015: We’ve seen multiple reports that counterfeit Optimind is being sold on Amazon.com.Make sure you buy it directly from the Optimind website.

Optimind Recommendation

In an increasingly competitive marketplace for Nootropic supplements, I personally think that OptiMind is one of the best formulas I’ve tested to date.

Their well optimized ingredient list, competitive price point, well designed packaging, and the supplements very effectiveness alludes to the fact that this is really a company that is looking to develop an award winning product. I would highly recommend OptiMind to anyone looking to gain an edge in the classroom, boardroom, or playing field.

Have You Used OptiMind?

Leave Your Review Below!

References

1. Choline: Uses, Side Effects, Interactions, and Dosing – WebMD.com

2. DMAE – What Should I Know About It? – About.com

3. GABA’s calming effects – Wikipedia.org

How People Found This Review:

and optimind, and optimind review, and optimind reviews, and adderin scam, and optimind side effects, and does optimind work

User Reviews


Have you used this supplement?

Optimind Review


By Clayton Fisher,  Jun 6, 2017

This product is really great. If you are looking for a substitute for energy drinks and the like, this is a great product to try.  The product itself is awesome. However, the cancel subscription is incredibly shady.  I tried to cancel several times and was still charged. It's almost as though they use that method to force people to pay for a month after receiving the free trial.  The product is great. Will recommend to friends if they change this issue.  It's borderline theft. It's also not a great way to rack in customers, although I see the reasoning behind it. Another alternative may be selling Optimind as a powder supplement instead of simply a pill.  It may produce larger sales and eliminate capsule costs. Personally I pour my pill into a small cup of water for more immediate effects.  Love you guys. Quit charging people on the DL and make customer service a priority.  Ill come back, so will others.

Was this review helpful to you?
74 out of 76 people found this review helpful.

Ava's Optimind Review


By Ava,  May 1, 2017

I was sort of disappointed with OptiMind. It works, don't get me wrong, but I don't think it is particularly strong.  It only lasts for about 1-2 hours. I've tried iQ2Labs and AlphaBrain, and they are much stronger.  I guess if you have never tried Nootropics and want to start with a light version, it does the job.

Was this review helpful to you?
26 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

Impressive


By Ted,  Feb 6, 2017

I've tested a lot of these so-called "brain supplements" and most of them so far have been bunk. It was very refreshing to find a supplement that actually does what it says it will.  Just like your review says, I could feel the clarity and focus kick in after about an hour, and it seems to last for about 4 hours on one dose. Thanks for recommending Optimind!
 

Was this review helpful to you?
12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

Great!


By Ugnius Neverdauskas,  Apr 14, 2017

I've been trying many supplements. I have tried Nootropics, natural Vegansafe B-12 (methylcobalamin, adenosylcobalamin), Rite Start Transfer Factors and many many more.  However, OPTIMIND is the ONLY pill that has ever worked at all. Recommend to everybody.  Just don't mix with alcohol! It will be an expensive hangover.
 

Was this review helpful to you?
15 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

Love it!


By Kaylin Watchorn,  Oct 16, 2015

Optimind is like an energy drink, but it doesn't make you feel all jittery and gross. There is also no crash when using this product, as in the use of caffeinated beverages.  I really liked the free trial they give you, They make it easy to cancel online if you want to. I was able to work on my books and my homework.  Then go and do my physical job easily. I didn't crash afterward.  It really helped the concentration issues that I have. I could stay focused for hours with no problem.
 

Was this review helpful to you?
162 out of 196 people found this review helpful.




Click Here To Visit The Official Optimind Site www.Optimind.com

Ask A Question

User Questions and Answers



Whats the withdrawal like? If I use this product for a month what will I experience if i decide to stop? -Lisa


I used it for about 6 weeks total, and when I stopped I didn't experience any withdrawal. The only thing I would note is that my normal focus / cognition levels seemed to return to baseline after about a week of refraining from use.- Rob

Was this question helpful to you?
66 out of 81 people found this question helpful.
ASK A NEW QUESTION



How long did your energy last? I work 12 hour swing shifts, and I'm hoping this will help me focus at work. -Kacee


I divide up my dosage by taking 2 capsules first thing in the morning on an empty stomach. Then I re-dose every few hours or so, typically 1 - 2 capsules.  For me, the effects last all day, But everyone is different so it takes a bit of experimenting to find the right dose.
- Rob

Was this question helpful to you?
54 out of 69 people found this question helpful.
ASK A NEW QUESTION



Can I buy this in stores like GNC, Walmart, or Walgreens / CVS? -Dave


No, it is only available on their official site.- Rob

Was this question helpful to you?
44 out of 56 people found this question helpful.
ASK A NEW QUESTION



What's the recommended number of pills to be taking daily? -Brendan


They recommend a dose of 2 capsules daily, but they encourage you to experiment by starting with one. They also note that you don't need to take it every day. You can save it for just those times you need more energy and focus.- Rob

Was this question helpful to you?
29 out of 31 people found this question helpful.
ASK A NEW QUESTION



Is this product available in Canada? -Al Morpurgo


No I believe it's only available in the US.- Rob

Was this question helpful to you?
18 out of 27 people found this question helpful.
ASK A NEW QUESTION

Author: Rob Miller

Supplement Critique

Rob Miller founded SupplementCritique.com over 7 years ago, and has been the chief editor ever since. He has a diploma in Advanced Dietary Supplements Advisor, and worked at GNC for 3 years. He KNOWS supplements, both inside and out. Rob currently resides in Jupiter, FL, with his wife of 4 years.  Learn more about him in his Bio here. Follow him on Twitter , Facebook, LinkedIn, or find him on Google +.

223 comments on “Optimind Review – Does It Really Work?”

Leave A New Comment

  1. Hi Rob,
    A quick reply is important. In your review of Nootropics on 5/13/2018 you had a link to the medication Abilify.

    I didn’t open it, intending to go back to it. Now I can’t find it.

    It seemed important because my wife takes it. It was a video link to Abilify and might have been a negative review.

    Can you please provide me that link again? Do you have a current opinion on Abilify?

    Thanks I’m a loyal follower of your reviews. You may not realize how much you help people!

    Dominic Presutto
    1. Hey Dominic,
      Glad I could help, and thanks for following! You might be confusing us with someone else. I don’t really comment on prescription drugs because of the liability issues. The only mention I have on Abilify is in my over the counter adderall alternatives post.

      I basically mock the fact that the FDA will recall a dietary supplement from the market if two people have a major side effect, yet approve drugs that list increased risk of death or stroke as one of the primary side effects.
  2. Hello, I would appreciate a recommendation for my 19-year-old son who is an NCAA athlete. He tried Modafinil which helped him with energy and clarity, but he has to stop because of potential athlete testing.

    He has trouble with focus, interest and concentration with his studies and is looking for a healthy alternative to sport drinks and coffee for energy and an increased edge for his workouts. He doesn’t sleep well as his mind is active and he has obsessive tendencies. I would appreciate thoughts on how he can reach his potential Thank you.

      1. Thanks, He actually is not against taking some stimulants as long as they will pass NCAA. I just don’t want him to rely on Red Bull. Is there a combo or something else he should take besides Mind lab Pro which will give him energy so he can push through a hard workout?

        Thanks again for all your help!
  3. I have chronic fatigue syndrome. I’m currently on Adderall to make it possible to complete any kind of work.

    How would your product compare? I also itch terribly from Adderall.

  4. Anything with the free trial and auto payments after 14 days has always been a bogus product that is almost impossible to get results from or even to cancel subscription. If you are promoting this you are part of the problem and not helping any one but yourself.

    There a a million stores selling supplements where you can buy a bottle and try it and continue or quit.
    1. Hey Terry,

      In most cases, I agree, but Optimind is the best nootropic I’ve used, and I’ve fully vetted the company in terms of responsiveness to customers. I’ve been impressed on all counts.

  5. Yes, believe it or not, Phenibut actually is an aphrodisiac, both for men and women. But more so with women. I haven’t seen any research on why, but my guess is that it has something to do with the dopamine release Phenibut causes.
  6. Optimind does the same free trial that you have criticized in so many other reviews. If you don’t remember to call and cancel, you are automatically billed and shipped bottles.

    Why is there no mention of this in this review?
    1. I did mention it, Allison.

      optimind

      Unlike the VAST majority of other free trials out there, these guys actually will refund your purchase up to 60 DAYS after you’ve ordered.

      So in theory you could get the free trial, be charged the full price, not realize it until 59 days later, and call them and they will cancel the trial for you AND refund your money.

      Practically NOBODY else does this, which is why I recommend them.
  7. I have been taking Optimind for about a week now. I ordered a month’s worth.

    I was wondering how will it be until the body starts retaining the compound. Thank you.

    I was just curious. Thanks

    1. Hey Joseph,
      I’m not sure what you mean be when your body starts retaining the compound. Can you clarify?

  8. I have had debilitating brain fog for the last 2 years. I have been to several doctors.

    I have had several tests done. Nobody can seem to figure out what’s causing it.

    I have tried different anti-anxiety and depression medication, and those do not seem to help at all.

    I tried to find some reviews of people who have taken Optimind to cure or lesson brain fog, but I couldn’t find any. Is Optimind a good solution for brain fog?

    Thank you!

  9. The website and the links you sent me to do not give you the option of buying only one bottle. You have to take the free offer, then they send you two bottles but you can opt out.

    That didn’t work for me in the past. I never got my money back on those offers.

    Another complaint I have is that the ingredient labels are different on Amazon from the one on the link in this article. The ingredients are different.

    That is a red flag.
    1. Hey Ras,

      I completely understand your skepticism. When I first tried Optimind, I loved the product, but I’m not a fan of the free trial setup they have.

      They assured me that they would always be responsive to customer needs, and in the years I’ve had the review on our site, I haven’t gotten one complaint about service or billing. I trust these guys to take care of their customers.

      As for the ingredients, that’s my bad. The ingredients shown on Amazon.com are correct.

      They updated the formula, and I haven’t yet updated our review. I’ll do that shortly.

        1. Hey Dwight,

          They both should be safe as long as you’re healthy. If you let me know what kinds of benefits you’re looking for, I’ll make a couple of great recommendations for you.

  10. I had a spinal cord injury in 2004. I went from hero to zero and stayed there for 12 years. I started taking Cogniflex and it changed my life.

    Anyone who came in contact with me afterward could not believe the change in me. Could this have been a placebo effect, even though I didn’t read any of the positive effects?

    1. Hey Xander,

      It could. There’s really no way to tell.

      It could also be a combination of placebo and actual effect.
  11. What happened to Mind Boost? It was your top choice for nootropic supplements just yesterday (12/20/16)!

    Also, how come there are five more pages to today’s version of the Complete Guide to Nootropics and three recommendations today compared to yesterday’s one recommendation of Mind Boost?
    1. Hey John,

      I’m not sure what happened, but I haven’t changed anything recently. The only potential explanation I have is that you were looking at a cached version of the page, and it was refreshed.

  12. Hey Rob, I was curious to know what you thought about stacking Optimind with Nootrobrain or Mind Lab Pro? I recently have gone through the process of painkiller withdrawal and am looking for something to turn the light bulb back on in my brain.

    I work out intensely, 6 to 7 days a week as I continue to do anything possible to reverse the negative effects caused by prolonged use of these medications, cigarettes, and alcohol.
  13. Bipolar disorder can be stimulated by these ingredients if lithium levels in a patient are too low, and other mental disorders can be amplified in the mentally ill that are safe to awaken in the healthy. I know, as my son is a strong example of this.

    He wants stimulants and things that awaken his mania, but he cannot even handle caffeine. If he stays on his medications, certain supplements are safe for him.

    He has Pyridoxine Deficiency Disorder, which is permanent damage from birth.

    It is common in newborns whose mother is severely deficient in B6 because of The Pill, which depletes it. He’s 33 now.

    Unfortunately, I had to take that because I was required by the US to take INH for exposure to TB, becoming a carrier after living in the south seas for 18 months.

    Ironically, I found out too late on both medicines, that I was supposed to be prescribed prescription B6 with both meds, as INH ALSO depletes you of B6. This info only emerged after I showed up for a prenatal appointment in the state of nervous breakdown.

    I am ok today (well, could do better cognitively), but my son now has relentless anxiety and other mental disorders.

    Adding B6 now seems to do little. He has autism, so he struggles, yet one part of his brain is overstimulated.

    When they suppress it with medicine, he is depressed, bored, and even grieving. He is in the hospital now, yet again.

    If only a supplement for manic depression that’s safe could be formulated!
    1. Hey M,
      Thanks for sharing yours and your son’s stories. When you’re dealing with health issues and prescription medications as in your case, I always recommend consulting with your doctors before taking any supplements at all.

  14. Would you recommend Optimind or Luminol? I would appreciate a definitive answer for a student planning to become an entrepreneur that also loves fitness.

  15. Hey Suzanne,
    Normally I don’t recommend prescription drugs, but it sounds like you need a drug called Modafinil. I’m actually surprised that you’re prescribed Adderall with the ailments you listed.

    Modafinil is supposed to be the “drug of choice” for that.
  16. Not long ago, I bought CogniMax. I have to say that it was marketed in one of the scam-type web promotions you talk about in other reviews.

    That being said, I liked it, and I liked that it did not include caffeine as one of the ingredients. After a month of taking it, I found myself more alert and focused during the day, and I slept better at night.

    The problem is, I can’t find it anymore. What it looks like is that it might have been a renaming or relabeling to another brand.

    The “new brand” is not the ingredients. So, if you’re able to track down Cognimax and do a review, I’d appreciate it.

    I suppose it’s possible my results were all me faking myself out, but I definitely notice a difference now that I’ve not had any for 30 days. Thanks. – Mike

    1. Hey Mike,

      We have a review for Cognimaxx XL. I’m not sure if this is the one you used. There’s also a product called Cognimaxx available on Amazon. It’s certainly true that these products come and go and change names and reformulate and all the rest. But if you’re looking for something that works, I’d definitely recommend Optimind.
  17. My comment is about Synapsyl vs. Inteligen. Both supplements are praised by the same person, Stephen Hawking. Both products are given a public favorable trial by Anderson Cooper.

    It seems fishy, but maybe they work?
  18. Hey Scott,
         SupplementCritique.com is a review website. We don’t have any affiliation with this product, so you’ll have to contact the company you made your purchase from to cancel your order or billing.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com

  19. Is there two Optimind bottles? The one I have does not have the same ingredients that you show on your website.

    The Optimind bottle I have is made by AltemaScript 3815 Grarrott Houston Texas.
  20. Hi Rob, I have a question. Does it lower the metabolism?

    Because I have a really high metabolism. I’ve eaten 4 times a day every day and my weight is 92.5lbs, never pass 100lbs, I’m 29 this year, I’m a guy.

    My question is do any of this product help? or I just barking up the wrong tree here?
    1. Hey Eirz,

      This Optimind doesn’t slow your metabolism. In fact, the caffeine will actually speed it up a little, but not overly so.

  21. I have never used Optimind but wish to in the future for my concentration problem. How soon would it be available in South Africa?

    1. Hey Mandisa,

      I know they plan to expand internationally this year, but I’m not sure what their timetable is. You can give them a call directly at 1-888-784-9315.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  22. Hey Yeshi,

    Optimind does work for me. It’s the best ready-made nootropic supplement I’ve found.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com

      1. Hey Yshigyalpp,

        There’s no evidence that you’ll develop a tolerance for Optimind, but I usually take about a week off every month with any of the supplements I take, just to clean the slate and get a fresh start.
        Rob
        SupplementCritique.com

    1. Hey Harriet,

      Because you have a medical condition, you’ll need to consult with your doctor about whether or not any supplement will interfere.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  23. I just want to say that yes, you do mention about not taking with other medications, and always should ask a doctor but my husband started taking these Optimind pills months ago and all I can say they made him completely lose his mind I am guessing he found out about this product in school but you should advise people to consult with a doctor if you have any mental problems, or hell if you are taking another medication just want people to know to beware of this product.
    1. Hey Ashley,

      I’m sorry to hear about that. Though I wonder if there’s something else causing his problems.

      I would definitely recommend he see a doctor to rule out any other issues.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  24. Hey KC,

    Nothing will get you the same effects as Adderall, not Optimind or anything else. Stacking Optimind with Phenibut is the closest thing I’ve found. Phenibut relaxes you and relieves anxiety, but without making you sleepy. You have to be very careful with it. Don’t take it more than twice a week and make sure you take a 3 or 4-day break in between. You’ll build up a tolerance really quickly. I hear you about the frustration. I’ve found that these kinds of supplements, more than any other, act very differently in different people, so you really need to try things for yourself to find what works for you.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  25. Hey Mike,

    I don’t know of any conflicts, but you should check with your doctor just in case.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Allan,

      I wish I could help you out, but our site specializes in workout, male enhancement, and nootropic supplements. We don’t have any significant knowledge of thyroid supplements.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey David,

      There are several customer reviews at the end of this post. I’ve also used it myself and my results are posted in the review as well.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  26. Will this affect a drug test? I am required to take random urine samples at work and they send them to a lab.

    That’s my only concern! I’ve got my first bottle already but did t think about this issues until after I already made the order

    1. Hey Manoj,

      Unfortunately, at this time, it’s only available in the US and Canada.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

    1. Hey Saige,

      To cancel your order, go to the Optimind website. If you click on the FAQ section, and there’s an entry for canceling your order. Follow the steps laid out there. It’s actually really simple once you get there. Let me know if you run into any trouble.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Jacob,

      I’m not sure what you’re asking. If you clarify, I’ll try to point you in the right direction for an answer.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Peo,

      I do receive a commission from Optimind, but I recommend it because I use it myself and I believe in it. I don’t know what you’re talking about with deleting negative comments.

      I don’t delete negative comments.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  27. I already have a very high metabolism and I read it increases your metabolism. I’m worried this would give me a dangerously fast metabolism.

  28. Hello Rob,

    I am curious to know about the long-term effects of the nootropics in general.
    Although at first glance, you try to be objective, the website is mainly promoting these products. Sure there are short-term sensible effects and people respond and report out of their emotions even before the effects are gone, but what about in the long run?


    You better know that if you shift the boundary of the observed problem (any) it may seem like nothing is wrong or the opposite, but the name of that problem stays the same. That is the approach of laboratories or pharmaceuticals when they try to prove something.
    Although I am sure that the producers do not have interest in conducting such trials, I am wondering about the holistic picture and the long-term one from more biological perspective.
    What are the responses of the body and the brain to such substances in such concentrated doses?


    Is there something like “exhaustion” of the receptors like for instance from a regular cocaine intake.
    I will be very happy if you can reveal more information.
    And please, don’t bring in shallow arguments like: “it´s natural and it´s in your food, but in higher doses” and such.


    You know the Indian saying: ” the difference between the poison and the cure is in the dose”

    I believe that you can be objective, critical and would not try to sell me anything.
    This information would be useful.

    Stay up!


    Regards,
    Hristo
    1. Hey Hristo,

      That’s a great question. Unfortunately, I really don’t know the answer, since as far as I can tell there have been no long term safety studies.

      If I had to guess, long term, you will likely develop a tolerance to them, basically to the point where you wouldn’t be getting much (if any) benefit from them. That’s why I think it’s important to cycle on and off substances like these.

      That’s the only REAL way you can avoid / limit building a tolerance. Hope this helps a little.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  29. Hi Rob, what are you product recommendations between the supplements of Optimind or MindBoost Day and MindBoost Night? Why do you make these recommendations?

    Does the supplement really help in the long term or only when you consume it? When you stop taking it does the effect disappear?

    Will you gain something in the long term if you start consuming this product?
    1. Hey Cristian,

      For slower acting, long-term results, I like Mindboost. For more immediate, noticeable results with energy, I like Optimind. In both cases, the effects will wear off once you stop taking them.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  30. Hi Rob. It’s nice to know there is someone to answer questions about this product.

    I have ADHD but the only medication that ever helped was Cylert, which they took off the market. Adderal gave me energy but no focus.

    Now I have Congestive Heart Failure so I can’t take Adderal any more, but I wondered if you knew or had heard from people with CHF, if it is safe to take this supplement with this condition? I would love some energy and some focus again.

    1. Hey Vickie,

      I’m really not in a position to say whether or not it would be safe with your condition. One of the drawbacks with supplements is that they’re not required to be tested for safety or effectiveness.

      With that being the case, I would definitely have to recommend you talk to your doctor about what may and may not be safe. With that said, I do think it could help as long as it’s okay for you to take.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Armando,

      There’s always a chance of having a sensitivity to a certain ingredient, but Optimind has a very low incidence of side effects.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

        1. Hey Zach,

          The problem is, nobody knows. Supplement ingredients are not generally tested on kids, so there’s no telling what kind of effect they may have on you, especially your growth.

          You don’t want to be the guinea pig.
          Rob
          SupplementCritique.com

    1. Hey Cody,
      I have not, but I just took a look at it and it seems to have a decent ingredients profile. I’ll try to get around to reviewing it soon.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  31. Well you didn’t leave a review so I didn’t approve it as one. However, I have converted it to a comment 🙂

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com

  32. Hi Faye,
    How exactly are the 2 related? Other than the free trial, I see no comparison between my review of Optimind vs. that of Cogniflex. Cogniflex makes numerous false and deliberate claims, like:

    1. It’s been featured on CNN as the first “approved brain super drug”, even though it hasn’t.

    2. It was featured in Forbes, which it wasn’t.

    3. It’s been approved by the FDA, which doesn’t even make sense because the FDA doesn’t “approve” supplements.

    4. It was the inspiration behind the movie “Limitless”, which I proved was not the case.

    Optimind does none of this…

    So let’s step back for a min. and see if the free trial is the culprit in your eyes…Optimind sends you 10 capsules to try for free (FREE shipping as well), and then charges you $43 14 days later if you don’t cancel.

    They make it CRYSTAL CLEAR when you go to order that this is the case…Not only that, but if you completely missed the terms and conditions, they STILL offer you a refund up to 30 days past the purchase price. Full refund that is…

    Let’s compare / contrast this with Cogniflex…

    Cogniflex buries their terms and conditions in a deliberate fashion, charges you for the shipping, and charges you $139.97 (that’s over 3X MORE than Optimind) 10 days after ordering.

    If you decide to cancel they also offer a refund up to 30 days after ordering. The difference?? With Optimind, all you have to do is send back the unused portion and you get a full refund. They will even refund the shipping charge back to them.

    How about with Cogniflex? Well, first off, they DON’T give refunds for trial bottles….sorry. For the orders that qualify for a refund, the bottle must be unopened. If you CRACKED the seal on the bottle you can’t get a refund.

    So let’s assume you didn’t get a sample bottle and you haven’t opened it yet. If you send it back, they charge you a 35% “restocking fee”, plus the shipping comes directly out of your pocket.

    So, where’s the correlation??? The next time you want to try and call me out, do your homework…

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  33. Hey Fran,

    I totally understand your skepticism. When I first tried Optimind and wrote the review, I had just started looking into and experimenting with nootropic supplements.

    Up until that point, I had only used a few others. Since then, I’ve done a lot of experimenting and tried a lot of different nootropics.

    It was only more recently, when I chose Optimind as my top choice, that I added the blurb about having tried a lot of these supplements, because by then, that was the case. Hope that clears up the confusion for you.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com

  34. Hey Mike,

    I’ve taken a look at it and wrote up an informational review, but I haven’t tested it out. It looks decent, but unfortunately, there’s not a lot of customer feedback. One thing to note is that it doesn’t contain stimulants. Depending on your preferences, that can be a good thing or a bad thing. Let me know how it works out for you if you do try it.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  35. Hey Rob,

    I got my Optimind pills from amazon, and they were all white. You think theses are not the real ones?

    I live in canada so I would not buy them from the website.
    1. Hi there,

      I can’t be sure, but I have seen comments stating that the Optimind at Amazon is counterfeit.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  36. Good Evening, I have a couple questions about this product: I am a United States Marine, is there anything in either of these pills that would pop up on a urine test that would lead to me getting kicked out of the Marine Corps? And I also take workout supplements and pills to assist whenever I workout, will either of these pills react negatively?

    1. Hey Jordan,

      With so many different testing agencies and protocols, I don’t know all of their parameters. Here’s a list of ingredients in Optimind.

      Take the list to the Marine Corp testing facility or administrators to be sure there’s nothing questionable: GABA, Phosphatidylserine, Vitamin D3, Alpha Lipoic Acid, Caffeine, Huperzine A, Tyrosine, Taurine, Vitamin B-12, Sulbutiamine, Vinpocetine, Bacopa Monnieri.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

    1. Hey Juan,

      You just have to make sure you watch your caffeine intake. Optimind has 95 mg per serving.

      Green Tea has about 50 mg per cup.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  37. Hey Sylvia,

    If you’re still taking the Phentermine, check with your doctor about the other three. He can tell you if there are any contradications. If you do go ahead with it, make sure you only take the Phenibut twice a week with several days in between.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  38. Hey Ron,

    I have an affiliate relationship with Optimind. When someone uses my link to order it, I get a commission.

    I have that kind of relationship with a few products. There’s no additional cost to the buyer, and I only enter into a relationship if I’ve personally used and had a great deal of success with a supplement.


    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  39. I’m a 21 year old female. I work full time, and I am taking 6 classes right now.

    I am a junior in college. I have fairly high levels of anxiety and have found that Adderall makes me feel terrible.

    It makes me feel clammy. I have sweaty palms, yet I feel cold.

    I always get a headache about 2 hours after taking only a 15mg dose. However, between my work and the fact I have a literal Crack addict alcoholic mother in law that is more needy than my 5 year old step daughter.

    I am exhausted. Would you recommend Optimind to someone like me, who needs focus and energy but can’t be crashing all the time, and has high levels of anxiety?

    Also, I am fearful of developing dependency. So I guess my question is, knowing all of that, would you still recommend Optimind to me?

    1. Hey Rina,

      Actually, Optimind would be quite safe to try. There’s no addiction potential, aside from the caffeine.

      But the caffeine won’t do you any favors with your anxiety. It’ll help with energy and focus though.

      You may want to consider talking to your doctor about your anxiety.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  40. Hey Charlie,

    Thanks for this. You’re right and this kind of thing happens all the time with supplements.

    They’re not regulated at all for effectiveness, so companies will list all these great ingredients, but only a dusting, not nearly enough to have even the slightest effect. It’s the wild wild west for sure!

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com

  41. Have you tried Nerium’s EHT? IF so, what is your review on that?

    I am a Brand Partner with Nerium and was very excited about our newest product, EHT, until I researched the competition and realized how much I would love to hear your review on that.
    1. Hey Maggie,

      I haven’t tried it myself yet, but I’m planning to at some point. In the meantime, we have a researched review here you can check out.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  42. Hi,
    I would like to try for free the optimind caps.
    I live in Greece.


    My full adress is:
    Agoudimou Nikolitsa
    V. Amalias 6, Kifissia PC 14561, Greece


    Thank you a lot

    1. Hey Nikolitsa,

      We don’t sell supplements. We just review them. You can go to the official Optimind website to sign up for their free trial. Just make sure you’re aware of the terms and conditions, so you don’t get charged unexpectedly.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  43. What is your current favorite nootropic? I know that sometimes blogs and websites get dated, so I thought it would not hurt to ask.

    Thanks, Steve
    1. I started taking Optimind with food first because it upset my stomach but I after about a week or so, my body got use to it and I could take it on an empty stomach.
  44. I thought this was going to be a review or critique of one product, which makes it highly suspect. But, that aside, what is your analysis of AlphaBrain2 and Synaptol?

    I have a diagnosis of heart failure and cannot take stimulants like Adderal or others that may be anxiolytics.

    1. Hey John,

      We’ve got a review of Alpha Brain posted on the website, but I haven’t seen anything about AlphaBrain 2. I’ll put Synaptol on the list and let you know when we get a review posted.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  45. Hey Don,

    I completely understand your concern. In fact, as a rule, I don’t recommend products that use free trials for exactly the reasons you state.

    When I tried Optimind, I got such great results I really wanted to promote this product. I called the owner of the company to express my concerns.

    We had a very long discussion during which he repeatedly assured me that all refunds will be honored and that they will even accept late cancellations when the customer is confused about what they’re entering into. I have no interest in recommending bogus products.

    If I recommend it, it’s because I personally vouch for its effectiveness, and this is definitely the case with Optimind. I hope that helps ease your mind a bit.

    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com

  46. I’m not sure how old this post is, but if you could, I work from home and usually need major focus to be able to sit and answer calls from my computer all day.

    I would love to know an approximate price for both supplements so I know how many hours to work to purchase it. If it works as well as described, I want to do a youtube run on my job.

    I would work a full day, 24 hours and see if my focus can withstand the ultimate trial.
  47. Hey Steve, Most supplement powders come with a scoop you can use to measure it out. The exception to this is when you buy in bulk.
    If you buy Phenibut from AbsorbYourHealth.com, you'll get a scoop that measures 500 mg when level. I definitely recommend you try it with Optimind. Rob SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Ben,

      They’re both good products, but I’d have to say Optimind is better. MindBoost does the job, but it’s more mild. You’ll feel it more with Optimind.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Vickie,

      I haven’t checked it out, but give me a few weeks, and I’ll let you know when I post a review.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  48. Hey Dave,

    I have an affiliate relationship with Optimind, which means that when someone buys Optimind through our website, I get a commission. I only choose to work with products I have personally used and believe in, and customers don’t pay any more for going though our site.


    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  49. No problem Mark,

    I fully support everybody doing their homework before spending money on anything. Our site is a just one resource of many.


    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
    1. Stick with the Optimind. AddTabz used to work great when it had DMAA in it.

      The FDA banned it’s use and they subsequently removed it so it doesn’t work as well as it used to.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
      1. I have a question about Optimind. So I take a ten or twenty mg of Adderal every few days or sometimes weeks depending on how I feel.

        Do you think these would be healthier and work as well?
  50. Hey RK,

    Did they tell you when the sample would arrive? Let us know how it goes when you try it.


    Rob
    SupplementCritique.com
  51. Does Optimind cause high pressure? Does it suppress appetite?

    In the long term, using Optimind, does our body become dependent on this pill to perform well with our studies?
  52. Have you ever tried or tested Beach Body Activit, and if so, how would you compare it with Optimind? I enjoy your reviews as another SFL GS owner.

    1. Hey Lynda,
      I actually have never heard of that one, I’ll have to check it out. That said, I took a quick look at the website and it doesn’t look like Activit is intended to be a nootropic supplement like Optimind.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  53. Just received my 10 days free trial of Optimind and have read a lot about Optimind and still don’t know if I should start with one or two capsules? I am 63 years old and not interested in “just a caffeine” jolt!

    1. Hey Jamzdean,

      The recommendation is that you try one pill at first to see if Optimind will work. If it doesn’t work after the first time, up the dose to 2, which is what works for most people.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  54. I was looking at Optimind reviews and looked to order. I noticed you and several people said they popped 2 pills for a dose.

    The site says a month supply is 32 pills. So, what is the daily dosage supposed to be?

    Do you take one in the morning? Do you take one in the morning and one in the afternoon?

    Do you just take one pill all day long? If you need two pills a day and the bottle only contains 32, then you would have to get two bottles for a monthly supply.

    1. Hey Shane,

      Actually, the recommended dose according to the FAQs on the Optimind website is 2 pills in the morning, though they say you can start with one to see if you get a full enough effect. The 32-count bottle is a 16 day supply. Their rationale is that not everyone takes it every day. They sell a package of 2 bottles per month if you want to use it at a dose of 2 per day every day.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  55. Does this product have caffeine, and if so how much? If so, this alone will produce a stimulant uptick in how one feels.

    I personally believe from experience in fitness training, competition, and my healthcare education that stimulants no matter how they are paired with other items become the main trigger to how one experiences the product. If it is effective without caffeine, why have it in the product?

    1. Hey Dr. Alvin,

      According to the website, it’s got about the same amount of caffeine as a cup of coffee, so that’s about 100 mg or so. My guess is they put it in because most people have a positive response to a bit of caffeine.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  56. I have taken Adderal for about a year and recently lost my insurance, so I do not have access to it any longer. I wasn’t professionally diagnosed with ADD until very late in age.

    I’m 37 now. When I first took the medication, it was the first time I can recall feeling normal. I could finally be productive without feeling like I had to mentally force myself to do it.

    I didn’t get high, I just felt normal. I would wake up and be ready for the day, just after taking it for a few days. I have small children, so losing that motivation has been huge for me.

    I’m a bit confused after reading all the comments on which I of these supplements would suit me best. I would appreciate your opinion on which you think I would benefit from most.

  57. Hi. I take 60mg of Adderall a day and I don’t feel any effects from it.

    It actually kinda makes me sleepy. Would it be safe to take Optimind while taking all my other prescription medications?

    I take a few psychiatric pills and a couple of heart pills. I would kill to have clarity focus and energy.

    And how much do you know about Adderall? How does it compare to Optimind?

    1. Hey Darren,

      Optimind is good, but it can’t really touch that kind of dose of Adderall. It sounds like you may need to cycle off the Adderall for a while to cut down your tolerance some.

      But with the fact that you take other prescription pills, you should really consult with your doctor about any changes you may want to make.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  58. Hi Rob,
    Hoping u can provide some clarification for me: I have literally only just learnt of these apparent ‘turbo-brain’ pills TODAY (I’m a pharmacologist so have always been much more «au fait» w real drugs!), but was sufficiently impressed – more like bowled over actually! – with what I came to learn about ‘Brain Storm’, that I decided ‘What the fuck, I’ll give it a go!’

    The links led me to the order page for a product called ‘Neuroplex Plus’; now, the picture on Neuroplex Plus’s bottles was IDENTICAL to those on Brain Storm’s, so I deduced it must have to be the exact same product, what with product branding/naming & artwork TM’ing laws being as they are…

    I ordered only after having ascertained with a comfortable certainty that the primary ‘magic’ active ingredient in ‘Brain Storm’ is a compound called E-huperzine (about which there is quite a considerable amount of info from various sources [particularly from Chinese scientific studies, interestingly] that confirm huperzine’s biochemical classification as a Noötropic [which, for those who don’t know, comes from the 2 Greek words «nóos» – mind – & «trópos» – turn -])…

    What I need to know is: a) does the ‘Neuroplex Plus’ that I ordered 4 hrs ago contain this E-huperzine at the same dose as it is in ‘Brain Storm’, and b) does this compound actually fuckin’ WORK at anywhere even close to the extent claimed? Or am I gonna have to return the stuff for refund and just plough on with amphetamines, benzos, opioids, antidepressants, phenethylamines + the odd modafinil & scrapings of fucking Ginseng while waiting for the next 80 years for a REAL so-called ‘Limitless’ pill?

    Many thanks!


    Harry,
    Australia
    1. Hey Harry,

      I haven’t heard of Neuroplx Plus so I don’t have any inside info on it I can’t seem to find it in a google search either. Can you send me a link?

      Generally speaking, some of the nootropic supplements I’ve tried to work, but not to the extent of the pill in Limitless. My top pick is Optimind.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  59. Hi Rob,

    I wanted to leave a short comment about Optimind. I just started my second month and so far I have not noticed any changes.

    I started it to mainly help with brain fog issues, help my memory, focus and to help me get going and things like that. I have been taking the two pills a day, one in the morning and one early evening to try and maintain a consistent flow throughout the day.

    The bottle does say that you could take up to eight pills a day, which seems like a lot, especially if you are not noticing the results, and can get expensive.

    On their website, it seems as the two bottle count is the most you can purchase which is actually only a month supply, so if you are needing or wanting to take more throughout the day you may need to call or email them to find out about that option. I have also noticed that it doesn’t seem like there is much of the product inside of the capsules themselves.

    I know that with other supplements I have tried, the capsules are usually packed with the product.

    If I remember correctly, they actually say on their site that they take it daily, so I’m not sure that you need to cycle off of this and it may need the time to build up to work. Anyhow, I figure I will give it the rest of this second month, possibly a third to see if I do notice any results and if not then begin looking for another option.

    Could you recommend another option as well?
    1. Hey Brandon,

      I have a couple questions before making a recommendation for something else. Are you not even feeling the short term energy and focus increase that’s supposed to kick in after about an hour?

      Are you taking it every day, or only a few days a week? Lastly, are you looking for something to take everyday or something to take just when you need that boost?

      Let me know, and I’ll get back to you with how I think you should proceed.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
      1. Hey Rob,

        That’s correct, I’m not even noticing the short-term kick in after an hour. I do take it daily, 2 capsules, one in the morning the second mid-day.

        I’ve been thinking of trying “AddTabz”, to see if those will help at least the short-term boost, but I would like to have something to take daily to maintain it as well.

        Thanks,
        Brandon
  60. Hello, I’m a student and I’ve heard a lot about brain-boosting pills and nootropics. I was hoping you could recommend what you think is the best nootropic for a student who needs concentration to study and a better memory because I’m very forgetful.

    1. Hey Marissa,

      You found it. Optimind is just what you’re looking for. It’s great for focus, concentration, and for getting stuff done.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  61. Where can you purchase a small amount? I’m talking fewer than 5. I just would like to see if I would like Optimind.
    1. Hey Chelsea,

      The only place you can buy Optimind is their official website. They offer a free trial of 10 pills. But make sure you understand the terms and conditions. If you don’t email them with your cancellation within your 14 day trial period, they’ll start sending you full priced bottles monthly. But if you follow the terms, it could be a great way to try it out for free.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  62. So I just bought some Addium to try out and then noticed your post on Optimind afterward. I have been taking Adderall for couple years now and it is obviously great to help get stuff done, especially when being a business owner, but I hate the fact that I have to rely on taking synthetic medications.

    Do you think the Optimind is worth a shot?
    1. Hey Kevin,

      I like Optimind a lot, really great for staying on task and getting things done. Definitely give it a try.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
      1. Hey Dan,

        Thanks for your comments, but I respectfully disagree with your statements. It’s generally not a good idea to take any nootropic every day without cycling off a few days a week.

        It’s very easy to build a tolerance. We make it very clear that we are paid when visitors buy certain products.

        In fact, it’s at the bottom of every page. And we don’t censor negative comments.

        There are plenty of examples throughout the site.

        Rob
        SupplementCritique.com
  63. Hi Rob! I’m currently on a suboxone taper.

    This is an opioid blocker to aid in opiate addiction. I’m looking for a supplement to help with the withdrawal symptoms when I am done w my taper.

    Withdrawal symptoms include lack of energy, or the ability to pull myself out of bed and face the day. Would you recommend Optimimd, or is there an alternative supplement that might aid me with my issue?

    1. Hey Jen,

      I recommend you discuss this issue with your doctor. There may be complications or contraindications that I’m not aware of or qualified to discuss.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    2. Hey Jen, I know what your going through and it is hell. I suggest trying an herbal called Kratom.

      I recently discovered this and it has saved my life. It definitely helps with symptoms of withdrawal, it also helps with energy, anxiety and etc. I have also seen some articles stating it having effects of nootropics.

      I stand by Kratom 100% I wish I had discovered this years ago. I could have saved myself thousands of dollars from all the bs of detox, suboxone, and methadone that really didn’t accomplish anything for me except for keeping me trapped.

      The best place to get Kratom is at Kratom Alliance. They have the lowest prices on small amounts and on bulk, great customer service and if you email them you could request samples they always respond right away and are kind enough to provide them.

      I’m not posting this to advertise or spam.

      I know what it’s like, I’ve lost a few friends to overdose and I’ve had my own struggle with Opiate addiction and just want to share what I’ve discovered in hope that I can save some lives.
      1. Mitragyna Speciosa aka KRATOM: First and foremost, I’m an advocate for Kratom over prescription opioids any day. My buddy owns a kratom distribution company and he is the main distributor to other business in the US.

        Eighty percent of Kratom retailers, are selling his kratom that he imports, lab tests, and packages. Furthermore, he has a lobbying group that works non-stop at legalizing it in every state, one by one.

        They just fought hard to have it re-legalized in Florida and it’s a huge accomplishment considering for one, it’s Florida , the corruption of big pharma advocating harmful drugs for profit, and the FDA with it’s successful countless attempts at having a ban kept in place and keeping it off the market.

        States, however, are starting to re-legalize it again, but not without a fight. So Florida is good news.

        It is a much safer alternative to treating pain.

        Now if someone is on Suboxone, my guess is that they had an opioid dependency. My suggestion to that person if they are trying to get off opioids all together, do not take Kratom.

        Kratom is an opioid antagonist, just like Suboxone. It is used for opioid withdrawals, just like Suboxone.

        It can become physically addictive, just like Suboxone.

        Catch my drift? Yes, it is a wonderful alternative to prescription pain pills and works very effectively.

        One glass containing a table spoon of ground tea into a powder substance, or 5 grams of the tea leaf itself is as effective, if not more, than taking two Norco’s at 10mg to kill pain, or for the recreational use to create a feeling of euphoria and relaxation. It’s all natural and much less toxic than prescription opiates, but it still produces the same effects.

        It is still mentally and physically addictive. It still can cause constipation.

        It still has psychoactive properties, and you will still experience withdrawals. You’ll be basically using one drug to taper off another drug, that you’re using to taper of opiates and you’re basically prolonging the inevitable.

        I’ve seen people abuse Kratom just like pills and they end up strung out. Granted although it’s safer, you’re still feeding the opiate addiction.

        For those who do not suffer addiction but have a painful injury, I’d take kratom over prescribed opiates any day!

        When I broke my tailbone the doctors gave me Norco and I was still laid up in agony by day 6. Finally, my buddy showed up with his kratom and after a strong cup of the tea I was up and moving around.

        It masked the pain more effectively. You can find Kratom online at varying prices, however, I’ve found that the companies who sell it really cheaply are not utilizing a high grade Kratom leaf, and some even cut it with other leafy substances.

        That is the truth. My buddy no longer distributes to individual consumers, but instead he distributes it wholesale to other retailers unless, you come visit his businesses here in person.

        Since he and his group of lobbyist have fought extremely hard at legalizing it, he doesn’t like selling it to people that might be irresponsible with.

        He doesn’t recommend it to drug addicts, or people suffering severe mental illness, as they are more likely to give it a bad name. A death autopsy, especially due to suicide or an accident due to driving under the influence, revealing Kratom in the person’s system can have negative consequences at legalizing.

        It may cause damage to all the hard hours and money invested for the states that have lifted the ban. It can be fuel for big pharma to destroy it’s reputation.

        I’m personally very careful of who I recommend it to for those reasons.

        Best of luck!
  64. I’m very interested in trying this Optimind. I have ADHD and I have seen the movie Limitless.

    It would be great, but I have tons of worries using Optimind. I’m sure you have heard them, all my worries are the kinda the same.

    I’m a gamer I play tournaments and stuff like that, would this help me out with that?
    1. Hey James,

      It’s not going to make you like the guy in Limitless. Unfortunately, that’s pure fiction.

      But you shouldn’t experience any side effects, and it will help with concentration so yeah, it’ll probably improve your game. I had great luck with it.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  65. If you’ve had kids and you are in your mid 30’s and above; You’re obviously aware of the “brain drain” that follows. I have been into healthy living and supplements since the early 90’s.

    Also having lived in the new age capital of Santa Fe added to my knowledge. All of the ingredients in Optimind are in my medicine cabinet already!

    Especially Vinpocetine. I take triple strength by Swanson.


    I also have the must-have Megamind by Source Naturals on my fridge. I Take that with my Omega 3’s every day.

    I am very surprised Phosphatidylserine or pyroglutamic acid is not an ingredient in this product. Overall I don’t expect much out of Optimind.

    1. Thanks Ziyi,

      Yeah, there are quite a lot of people using nootropic ingredients individually. They’ve done their experimenting, figured out what works, and use just that.

      But there are some people that just don’t want to work that hard, and would rather have it all formulated for them. I really liked Optimind.

      You’ll have to let me know how it works out for you.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  66. Thanks for the information on Optimind, Rob. I have ordered samples of both products and will give them both a try, keep you updated on my personal results and thoughts on both if that’s ok with you

  67. Hi Rob,

    With Optimind having all the caffeine, I can get the same effect from say a triple shot of espresso, and the crash as well.
    I’m looking for a long-term, daily usable, pop 1 pill, no caffeine, no load up product.

    I ordered the Optimind trial and you said it was the number one, then I see now its mind boost can you clarify what changed your mind? and are you related to any of these products you recommend?

    Best Regards

    Kelly
    1. Hey Kelly,

      You’re right about Optimind. It’s good for a boost now an then, but it’s not the best option if you want a daily supplement to generally improve your cognitive ability. Since that’s what you’re looking for, you definitely want Mind Boost. They each have their advantages, but it seems like for you, Mind Boost is a better fit. To answer your last question, I am an affiliate for some of the products I recommend, including both Optimind and Mind Boost. That means when you order them through our site, I get a commission. But rest assured, I only recommend products that I’ve personally tried and found to really work.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  68. Hey Rob,
    It seems most of your picks are short-term or as needed. I’m looking for a long-term add it to your daily vitamins brain booster.

    Do you have any suggestions?
    Thanks,
    Lo

  69. Hi Rob,

    On October 2, 2014, in response to Lachlan, you said: “Yep, Mind Boost is still my number one."

    But on July 24, 2014, your response to Jennifer who asked “which nootropic gives the overall absolute best increases in energy, motivation and focus…” was “… I’ve actually been planning to update my top picks, and I think OptiMind and TruBrain will both make the list."

    I have already ordered MindBoost, and now I am not sure which one I want to go for. Do you still plan to update your top picks to OptiMind, or is MindBoost still your number one?

    Thanks
    Rizwan

    1. Hey Rizwan,

      Sorry for the confusion. MindBoost is still my number one for longer term benefits.

      If you want something that puts you at a higher level in terms of energy, focus, and cognitive function, MindBoost is it. OptiMind is great for that quick, yet temporary boost.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  70. I have a question concerning the use of Optimind. I’m currently being treated for copper toxicity and due to this problem, I have adrenal issues.

    The symptoms I experience are due to the copper coming out of the body. I have tried a few natural products for anxiety and energy.

    While I’ve treated the anxiety, I’m having problems with energy and thinking straight. My job kind of requires me to be fast on my feet, and it’s so hard to find something that won’t interfere with my diet and regimen treatment.

    My only concern is the caffeine. I’ve read it can be an issue for the adrenals.

    I’ve gotten the trial pack which I’m going to start taking tomorrow but I’m worried it might have a long-term effect on my adrenals. Do you have any thoughts on this?

    1. Hey Shaun,

      Since you’re being treated by a doctor, I’ll have to send you to him for advice. This kind of supplement is still relatively new to the mass market nad they’re really not well regulated.

      Your doctor will know better how the ingredients might affect you in particular.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  71. I just got my Optimind in the mail yesterday, and as a software engineer who has tried just about every brain product out there, Optimind is indeed a life changer. I need nothing else, no more coffee, Redbull, monsters, or gingko.

    I recommend this product to everyone.
  72. Hey mate, I have been following your posts for a while, and have been very interested in the nootropics, and have finally decided to invest in some.
    Having seen the top three you recommend hasn’t changed for a while, I was wondering if they are still your best picks or would you recommend some of the others you have tried since then?

    Look forward to hearing from you.

    Kind regards

    Lachlan

    1. Hey Lachlan,

      Yep, Mind Boost is still my number one. It’s not the kind of thing that comes on strong. It works over time, but when it kicks in, you’re really firing on all cylinders.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
      1. Thanks mate,

        Because I live in Australia and Optimind is one of the few that will ship out here, I am so excited to get it and start seeing the results.
  73. Do you believe a product like this Optimind can be addictive over time? This would be a great boost to start you in the right direction, but what about if you want to come off it and try achieving the same effects without intaking more supplements?

    1. Hey Carl,

      It is widely accepted that nootropics are not addictive. The only exception I can cite is that some of them contain stimulants, like caffeine, and you might experience a bit of a fog or headache if you discontinue caffeine use completely once your body has gotten used to using it.

      It should only last a day or two, and like I said, it’s a function of the caffeine, not the nootropic substances themselves. That’s one of the best things about these supplements.

      There are definite benefits, but no addictive properties.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  74. I wanted to know how does this compare to Provigil (Modafinil). Have you ever taken it?

    If not can you two write a review and compare the two?
    1. Hey Nick,
      I haven’t taken Provigil myself, but we do have a review up based on research we’ve performed. It’s difficult to compare Optimind to a prescription medication like Provigil. The effects are similar but not as strong and with no side effects. Sorry I can’t make a personal comparison for you, but hopefully the review will help with the information you’re looking for.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
      1. I want to add something here in regards to Provigil if it is ok.

        I’ve taken Provigil, Adderal, Vyvanse, Ritalin and other medicines, and still have over half of a bottle left from an old prescription. With that being said, everyone’s brain chemistry is different.

        If you’ve abused stimulants in the past or you currently are, it is like you’ll not experience results to the fullest without taking a larger quantity. I’m not a doctor but this is a known factor in the supplement/body-building world for starters.

        This includes abusing large amounts of caffeine.

        One dose of Provigil left me feeling nothing. Taking two doses gave me slight results as far as mental clarity, but three gave me the effects I needed to have the energy to get motivated and have noticeable alertness or clarity.

        Mind you, this probably isn’t safe, however, I was on Adderall for 7 months prior with a developed tolerance which I’m pretty sure was a factor. Overall, I still didn’t find Provigil to be all that special.

        Good luck. 🙂
        1. I agree Rob. Every body and chemistry is different.

          I tried Provigil AND Nuvagil when it first came out. I did not experience any gain in clarity or energy from either.

          And I probably threw two half bottles out as well due to their ineffectiveness for me. Optimind, on the other hand, worked just as promised.

          At first I wasn’t sure if it was a placebo effect but when my 5 day trial ended and I didn’t have any left, I noticed that I’d wished I had ordered a bottle. For me, it was clean energy without jitters.

          And for the record, I have a high caffeine tolerance.
  75. I’m naturally cynical of any pharmaceutical and what concerns me here is the long-term effects of using any nootropics. Thus far, I keep hearing how great this product is, but we all know there are side effects to almost anything we ingest.

    Has anyone reported any adverse effects to this product or similar products?
    1. Hey Ra,

      I completely understand your skepticism, but all the ingredients in this are over the counter. I haven’t heard of anyone experiencing negative side effects with Optimind, but if you’re still concerned, I would start with a half dose and/or take it only a few days a week or so.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  76. I just started taking Optimind this week. I refused to take ADD medication as of all the side effects and I wanted something that was kind of natural.

    I feel focused everyday. I only took one and I feel great.

    I think the crash is sooner but its like no other crash. It doesn’t feel like anything but that my brain has been used.

    The first time I tried it I felt like my entire brain was working if that makes sense. The cloudy feeling went away and I was focused.

    I love this product so far! Hopefully long term it will be worth the same excitement!

  77. I was wondering after a few months, does the Optimind pill still have the same effects as when you first used it? Also, how long does the feeling last before you need to restock your body on the pill?

    1. Hey Josh,

      I haven’t used it long term, but according to the website, you can continue taking it all year and still get the same effects. As for how often you need to take it, the effects lasted for me for most of the day, and the recommended usage is once per day, or whenever you feel like you need or want that cognitive boost.


      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
  78. First, you say: “Up until this point I haven’t tried too many other Nootropic supplements, so it’s a bit hard to draw a comparison between this supplement and others."

    Then you say: “In an increasingly competitive marketplace for Nootropic supplements, I personally think that OptiMind is one of the best formulas I’ve tested to date."

    Have you tried other nootropics, or not? If so, what were they?

    What are the differences?
    1. Hey Steve,

      Up to this point, I haven’t tried a lot, but of the few that I’ve tried, Optimind is one of the best in terms of cognitive enhancement and how it make you feel natural, yet alert.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  79. Hello, I was wondering how frequently one has to use drugs like this? Do I take a bottle and it already boosts my sensory cells, or is it a medication I have to use over and over again to keep up with its functions?

    I do not want to get addicted to a medication to enhance my performances in any regard and have trouble later if I decide to stop using it. If I decide to stop using it, do I go back to how I was before?

    1. Hey Samuel,

      Optimind is for as-needed use. You take it when you need or want that boost in brain power, focus, or energy.

      The effects won’t last after it’s out of your system.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  80. Hi,

    I’m interested in the nootropics and was wondering whether Trubrain and Optimind are better than your currently listed top3 as their reviews seem a lot more positive than the Top3’s reviews about the effects? In your and your team’s experience, which nootropic gives the overall absolute best increases in energy, motivation, and focus while remaining healthy and low in side effects, regardless of time to kick in?

    Thanks so much again for your help.

    1. Hey Jennifer,

      You have a good eye! I’ve actually been planning to update my top picks, and I think OptiMind and TruBrain will both make the list.

      For your purposes, I’d go with OptiMind.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
      1. Don’t buy Intellux! I just got scammed!

        I bought Intellux before seeing your site. If you buy 3 bottles for $29.00 you get 2 free.

        That is what the ad said. My credit card was charged $144.00.

        How can this company keep scamming people? Now I see all their stuff is fake and fraud.

        I saw that they did the exact same to others in some post with 13 reviews I saw too late!
  81. You advertise for Optimind – with lots of information about where to buy it and links to its website. Because you are being paid by Optimind that makes you a biased reviewer and your information can’t be trusted.

    If I am wrong please explain – and are you willing to disclose how much Optimind is paying you?
    1. Hey Tomas,

      I do have an affiliate relationship with Optimind as well as several other supplements I’ve reviewed on the website. I only enter into relationships with products I use myself, and all my opinions, both positive and negative – are real.

      The way it works is that when visitors to my site click the links and make a purchase, I receive a commission on the sale.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  82. The formulation in the original Addium had ingredients that sounded like something only a scientist would know. Now they are down to ginkgo biloba.

    I had good results with the original. It took about 3 to 4 weeks, and I had almost complete relief from trying to grasp for words during a conversation.

    A good effect I didn’t expect was better sleeping. I stayed asleep for 6 hours and better dreaming, not constant nightmares.

    These people just want an effect like a Rockstar. I need something real.

    Am I being unrealistic? Can you tell me if you have something like I described?


    Sincerely,
    Teri
    1. Hey Teri,

      One of the things that stands out about nootropic supplements is that they involve a lot of trial and error to find the one that works for you. I think it’s because the different ingredients don’t work the same in everyone. That said, I find Optimind to be the best I’ve tried. You may also want to look into buying ingredients one by one and creating a stack that works for you. Sign up for my free “Nootropics Guide” ebook for some more information on the different components out there.

      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com
    1. Hey Jay,

      I haven’t checked it out yet, but I’ll put it on the list. Check back in a couple weeks for our review.


      Rob
      Supplementcritique.com
  83. I, live in Scarborugh,ON Canada and

    my phone is (xxx)xxxxxxx
    when entered said need to use international number help.
    also method of pay which card
    1. Hey Richard,

      I checked with Optimind. They said you can put any phone number in the form, so I’m not sure what went wrong.

      Give it another try, and if it doesn’t take this time, contact Optimind at 888-784-9315, and they’ll help you through it.
      Rob
      SupplementCritique.com

  84. Is there anything comparable in its positive effects to Optimind but without the caffeine? I drink coffee and I can be sensitive to anything with additional caffeine.

Leave A Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *